Python string formatting using dictionaries

Posted: January 2, 2012 in Devops, Python
Tags:

I’ve started using the string formatting dictionaries and never looked back.

As the ‘%’ operator is deprecated in python 3, I’ve added the future version too.

Python 3.2 (r32:88445, Feb 21 2011, 21:11:06) 
[GCC 4.6.0 20110212 (Red Hat 4.6.0-0.7)] on linux2
Type "help", "copyright", "credits" or "license" for more information.
>>> fdict = {'name': 'AJ'}
>>> print('%(name)s is my friend' % fdict)
AJ is my friend
>>> '{name} is my friend'.format(**fdict)
AJ is my friend

Leave a Reply

